Despite the controversy and stir it generated on social media and among a few experts, the Marylebone Cricket Club (MCC) has stated that the delivery bowled by Akash Deep to dismiss Joe Root was legal and that no foul play was found in the mode of dismissal. The law states that the point of contact where the foot lands is an important factor in determining whether the ball is legal or not. It is always the very first point where the foot makes contact with the ground.
Even if some parts of the foot lands over the line, if the first part of landing is inside, then the ball is legal. For the unversed, Akash Deep castled Root with a peach of a delivery. However, a few moments later, it emerged that the pacer's back foot was going wide off the crease, leading to a lot of controversy among some sections of the media, as to whether it was a back-foot no-ball that got Root out.
Advertisement
Even some commentators, on air, stated that the Indian pacer bowled a no-ball. Former England batter-turned-expert Jonathan Trott also felt the ball was not legal. However, Ravi Shastri, who was on air at that time said the ball bowled by Akash Deep was legal. The third umpire during the second Test Paul Reiffel, who firmly relays information in case of no ball from the two field umpires also did not intervene.
MCC elaborates why Akash Deep's delivery was legal
An MCC spokesperson said: "On Day four of India's Test against England last week, there were questions raised about the delivery from Akash Deep which bowled Joe Root, with some fans and commentators believing it to be a no-ball.
"While Deep landed unusually wide on the crease, and some of his back foot appeared to touch the ground outside the return crease, the third umpire did not call a no ball. MCC is happy to clarify that this was a correct decision in Law."
The MCC quoted the relevant law, saying Law 21.5.1 states that: "For a delivery to be fair in respect of the feet, in the delivery stride the bowler's back foot must land within and not touching the return crease appertaining to his/her stated mode of delivery."
Also Read: IND vs ENG: 'India too good, but...' Michael Vaughan backs England to win 3-1
"MCC has always defined the moment that the back foot lands as the first point of contact with the ground. As soon as there is any part of the foot touching the ground, that foot has landed, and it is the foot's position at that time that is to be considered for a back foot no ball.
Root's wicket in the second innings of the Edgbaston Test was a huge moment in the game, as the batter always prides on scoring runs when the stakes are high. However, that was not to be as India won the second Test by a huge margin of 336 runs.